The Buninyong Electorate

The name Buninyong originates from the traditional custodians of this land, the Wadawurrung people. The word Buninyong means “man lying down with bent knee” and it originates from the shape of Mount Buninyong when it is viewed from a distance.

The electorate of Buninyong is a mixed rural-urban seat covering the area to the west of Bacchus Marsh and south and east of Ballarat. The electorate also covers the southern parts of the Ballarat metropolitan area to include Sebastopol, Canadian, Ballarat East and other suburbs.

Buninyong electorate is made up of Ballan, Bungaree, Buninyong, Canadian, Clarendon, Elaine, Eureka, Gordon, Lethbridge, Linton, Meredith, Mount Clear, Mount Egerton, Mount Pleasant, Napoleons, Scarsdale, Sebastopol, Smythesdale and Warrenheip. Parts of Bakery Hill, Ballarat East, Brown Hill and Maddingley, and covers 3,107 square kilometres.